Georgia congregation wins Johnson Stewardship Award

Cherry Log Christian Church of Cherry Log, GA, is the 2017 recipient of the James P. Johnson Stewardship Award by the Board of Directors of the Christian Church Foundation.

The award was presented during the 2017 General Assembly in July in Indianapolis.

“Cherry Log Christian Church, with an outstanding record of outreach-focused mission, is a worthy recipient of the Johnson Stewardship Award because of its leadership, creativity and integrity in responding to God’s call for faithful stewardship,” said the Rev. Gary Kidwell, Foundation president. “This award recognizes this congregation’s commitment to overall stewardship, including planned giving, and demonstrated support for churchwide and local outreach ministries.”

The award is named in honor of Foundation President Emeritus James P. Johnson and recognizes his commitment to funding the witness and ministries of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in all of its manifestations.

Criteria for this award includes:

  • Overall commitment to financial stewardship
  • Innovative approaches to stewardship
  • Support of local, regional and general ministries
  • Proponent of planned giving and permanent fund policies
  • Advocate of general mission funding

"Cherry Log Christian Church members have in their DNA the passion to give of themselves generously to make a difference in this world that God has entrusted to us," said Foundation Vice President Randy Johnson, who works with the congregation. "They are also very generous supporters of the Disciples Mission Fund.  In the most recent Yearbook you can see that they rank 2nd in the region of Georgia in their DMF giving and 3rd  in the life of the church in congregations their size."

He added: "They are a prime example of a new movement in the life of Disciples churches in changing the culture of the congregation from being surprised when an active member of the church leaves a gift to the church in their end-of-life plans…. to being surprised when they don’t."

Prior winners of this award are:

2003   James P. Johnson

2005   Central Christian Church, Decatur, IL

2007   University Christian Church, Fort Worth, TX

2009   First Christian Church, Bowling Green, KY

2011   First Christian Church,  North Hollywood, CA

2013   Sandy Springs Christian Church, Sandy Springs, GA

2015   Washington Avenue Christian Church, Elyria, OH