Iowa couple receives service award

Richard and Dolores Lofton of Keokuk, IA, longtime members of First Christian Church in Keokuk, have received the Foundation’s Harry T. Ice Distinguished Service Award. The honor was presented during the Foundation’s General Assembly banquet in Indianapolis.

The Harry T. Ice Distinguished Service Award honors excellence in philanthropy within the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ).  Harry T. Ice, an Indianapolis lawyer, served on the original Blue Ribbon committee that led to the creation of the Foundation as a general ministry in 1969. He served on the first Board of Directors and was the Foundation’s general counsel.  Mr. Ice died in 1982 at the age of 77.

Recipients demonstrate personal generosity, leadership in philanthropy and a love of and commitment to the whole church.  The Foundation’s Board of Directors cited the Loftons commitment to all causes of the church, their use of permanent funds to perpetuate ministries and the influence they have had on many churches in the areas of stewardship and outreach

In addition to their local congregation, the Loftons have been leaders within the region and general church.

At First Christian, Dolores is active in the CWF and served as officer and study leader.  The church’s first woman elder, she is now elder emeritus. She’s sung in the choir, directed the church’s teen-aged musicals, and been a leader with the regional Disciples Women and Keokuk’s Church Women United.

Richard’s service at First Christian has included board chair, elder and leader of several ministry groups. He has served as chair of the Regional Board as well as the regional representative to the General Board. He served on the Commission of Finance, and later on the boards of the Division of Overseas Ministries and United Christian Missionary Society. His leadership with overseas ministries included serving on the task force that formed a cooperative overseas witness with the United Church of Christ.

Prior winners are:

1984     James R. Reed

1987     Joe and Nancy Vaughn Stalcup

1989     Hannah Younghusband

1991     Marvin G. Osborn

1996     Sam and Mary Howard

2002     Evelyn and Hal Watkins

2004     Allan and Marie Brady

2009     Bill and Benny Robertson

2012     Huberto and Arlene Pimentel

2013     Virginia and Frank Winker

2014     Oscar Haynes